Valerie Girouard

About Valerie

Valerie Girouard

I hope to help new agents understand the real reason they should be a realtor – it’s all about helping people.

  • Year first licensed in Real Estate: 1989
  • Prior occupation: Teacher (junior high and high school) Managed a surgical practice for a doctor.
  • Educational accomplishments: Bachelor of Arts in secondary education
  • Awards/recognitions received:
    • Multi Diamond Awards from NRIBOR
    • Ruby Masters from Century 21
    • Occasional monthly award recognition through HomeSmart
    • Multi million dollar production awards HomeSmart
  • Office location: Warwick

Personal and/or professional accomplishments:
I enjoy all the relationships I’ve made working with buyers and sellers over the years and consider these my most treasured professional accomplishments.

On a personal level, I was able to get the Oprah Winfrey show to invite my cousin and me to her show, based on a letter I wrote about my cousin. I also enabled my cousin to win the Jefferson Award from WJAR based on another letter of recommendation I wrote about her. I enabled my mom to win Mother of the Year, based on a letter I wrote about her and her good deeds. I am proud to say I took her to live with me for the last 10 years of her life, and I know she appreciated that. My most important personal accomplishment was raising 3 awesome humans on my own after my divorce.

Why did you get into the real estate industry?
When I bought my first house, I was completely underwhelmed with the realtors I saw houses with, which led me to believe that it was an easy job. I had 3 small children and felt I could easily work around their school and activity schedules. I believe most newly licensed agents, in their naivete, say they got into real estate because they love seeing houses, and I admit, that was a real draw for me as well.

Why did you choose to become a Coach?
Over the years I’ve come to realize that agents do not sell houses – houses sell themselves. What agents do is counsel, advise, and guide the clients. We are their source of education, helping them to plan and make decisions that best fit their needs. We listen to them, we laugh with them, sometimes we cry with them, and for the stretch of time that we get to spend with them, we fall completely in love with them! (Most of them!) When it’s all over, we say goodbye, wish them well, and miss them and the daily contact, but we stay in touch with them. These relationships are precious and I hope to help new agents understand the real reason they should be a realtor – it’s all about helping people.

Schedule a Meeting with Valerie

Preferred Time